Visa Information

Prospective authors are invited to submit technical papers of their previously unpublished work. All submissions should be written in English and should have 4-5 pages, including figures, all of them in the standard format pages. Ready versions of accepted papers exceeding five (5) pages, up to seven (8), will be allowed pending payment of overlength charges (75$ for each additional page), click here for more fee details. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to the list below.

The following countries can gain entry to Japan without a visa. Length of stay varies from 30 to 90 days depending on your nationality. 

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Rep., Denmark, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, U.S.A, United Kingdom and Uruguay 

All foreigners should expect to be photographed, fingerprinted and questioned each and every time they enter Japan. 

Japanese visa exemption rules 

Japanese embassies 

Foreign embassies in Japan



Nagoya is the largest city in the Chūbu region of Japan. Nagoya welcomes BDML2018!


Useful Links

Author Registration Form
Presenter Registration Form
Listener Registration Form
Schedule at a Glance